Churchill: The Last Lion


Churchill: The Last Lion

  • The Last Lion:  Winston Spencer Churchill Defender of the Realm, 1940-1965  by William Manchester and Paul Reid

    2012.  Softcover, gently used.

    The third and final volume of William Manchester's trilogy of biographies of Winston Churchill.  

    The Last Lion covers the period from 1940 - 1965, and picks up shortly after Winston Churchill became Prime Minister -- when his tiny island nation stood alone against the overwhelming might of Nazi Germany.

    The Churchill conjured up by William Manchester and Paul Reid is a man of indomitable courage, lightning-fast intellect, and an irresistible will to action. The Last Lion recounts how Churchill organized his nation's military response and defense, compelled FDR into supporting America's beleaguered cousins, and personified the "never surrender" ethos that helped the Allies win the war, while at the same time adapting himself and his country to the inevitable shift of world power from the British Empire to the United States.








  • FB-Logo-yello-150
  • IG-Logo-yellow-150


20 Jesup Road, Westport, CT 06880

Our dual mission: to raise funds for the Westport Library while providing meaningful employment for adults with disabilities.

© 2020 Westport Book Sale Ventures, Inc.