top of page
Parade's End by Ford Madox Ford

Parade's End by Ford Madox Ford

  • From our Historical Fiction and Classics categories :

    Parade's End   by Ford Madox Ford

    2019 printing.  Hardcover, very gently used, in excellent condition.


    Parade’s End, a tetralogy by Ford Madox Ford, published in a single volume in 1950 and comprising the novels Some Do Not (1924), No More Parades (1925), A Man Could Stand Up (1926), and The Last Post (1928).

    Parade’s End is set during and after World War I and shows some of Ford’s strongest writing.  Its theme is the breakdown of Edwardian culture and the painful emergence of a new world with a new set of values.  

    Christopher Tietjens, the protagonist (thought to be modeled on Ford himself), is a conservative, rather naive, unhappily married landowner who is forced by the irrevocable alterations brought about by World War I to change his way of life.  

    The work’s impressionistic narrative style received favourable critical comment, and Tietjens is acknowledged to be one of the great creations of English literature.  The novels were adapted as a miniseries (with the screenplay by English playwright Tom Stoppard) in 2012.








bottom of page